Life · Triathlons

Weekend highlights + my new biking coach + tri training real talk + training week 8

Hope you all had an amazing weekend!!

Friday

My weekend started off with hanging with my #1, Michelle. She came to Astoria and we went to my favorite beer garden, Bohemian Hall (I’ve mentioned it a few times on this blog, it just doesn’t get old 🙂 ).

FullSizeRender (25).jpg

Michelle issued this funny snap chat. The struggle of taking pictures while eating.

FullSizeRender (27).jpg

Then we did our classic post-meal stroll, chatting our hearts away. She completes me ❤

Saturday

The day started off with some studying and picking up my bike from the shop. I got a tune up, 2 new tires, and a new cable – it feels brand new!!

IMG_1438.JPG

Then it was off to Central Park for a bike workout. I invited Scott along – he’s a seasoned biker and great company for these rides! Flashback to last Fall when we would go on rides together almost every weekend. We took a break from those for a while, but now that I’m training I’m happy to be picking up our rides again.

This time, Scott gave me some fantastic advice. We worked on keeping my cadence consistent while climbing hills, my form, and playing around with gears to find find a happy spot. Scott is like a tiger dad to me – he makes me better through a lot of tough love, but love nonetheless! I guess I have a new biking coach 😉

FullSizeRender (28).jpg

After washing up, watching Mr. Robot, and taking a nap, it was time to hit the town :). Scott and I met up again for dinner at a BBQ spot in East Village – I had the softest melt-in your-mouth pulled pork ever. We were both overstuffed.

IMG_1441.JPG

The rest of the night was filled with bar hopping in East Village with a friend :). I’ve been spending a lot of time down there…I do miss the old downtown stomping grounds now that I live in Queens!

Sunday

The definition of a low key day. I spent some time in a new tea spot close to my apartment – they had super unique tea flavors. This one: matcha, coconut and lime – BEYOND refreshing. Some Iceland research to accompany 🙂

FullSizeRender (29).jpg


 

Now for some tri training real talk:

I recently read two posts by NYC Running Mama – one of my favorite bloggers out there. Michele is so inspiring and knows how to keep it real. She shared about struggling with having the urge to train while balancing work/family the past few months, as well as the importance of believing in yourself which she learned during her Ironman training cycle. Check these posts out HERE and HERE!

This made me want to share about my emotions/thoughts I’ve been thinking recently. I tend to focus on and share the positive workouts & moments in my life, but I think it’s time to also share the not so positive ones.

I am getting SO FREAKING NERVOUS about this triathlonThe biggest reason by far is because of my training progress. I basically made up my training plan via my very own Milestone Method. It started out to be a very positive way to approach training – listening to my body and doing what I felt. Especially in the beginning of summer when I had more free time, I was very motivated and hit great work outs – my best was 8 days in a row of training! But as work got super crazy in July and I also began taking trips, I definitely put training on the back burner and began skipping more workouts. Now that I’m three weeks out from the race, I regret not being more diligent with my training during crunch time this past month, and I’m nervous that it’s going to bite my in the butt! I’m not afraid to admit when I’m wrong, and I will say that if I were to do this all over again, I would probably follow a more rigid training plan vs making my own.

I also tend to doubt myself. The feelings I’m having now are very similar to what I felt before my first marathon – fear of not being able to finish the race and doubting myself completely. My personality is one that plans everything to perfection, and when I go out, I FREAK out. Something I’m actively working on is trying not to expect things to be worse than they will be – learning to have faith in people, situations, and myself!

Soooo that’s my rant about what’s been going on in my mind for this triathlon…I’ll definitely be working on staying consistent with training these last few weeks of training, and mentally preparing for this race. Anyone else feel like they’ve been underprepared for a race too!? Would love to hear!!

Week 8 of Tri Training

Monday: 5 miles running

Tuesday: 1600m swim + 3 mile bike

Wednesday: 4 miles running

Thursday:REST

Friday: REST

Saturday:23 mile bike

Sunday: REST

Leave a Reply

